Main Menu

Trauma Assessments & Consults: Eligibility


LAC logo new vertical 3.2012 2

Livingston County Trauma Informed Assessments

Who Is Eligible?

A child who meets these criteria may receive a trauma informed consultation:

  • Child is a resident of Livingston County or in the county’s jurisdiction
  • Child is considered to have a SED — Serious Emotional Disorder (SED is defined as a diagnosable mental, behavioral or emotional disorder)
  • Child is age infant to 18 years old 
  • Child has experienced trauma, abuse or neglect

A child  who meets the above criteria and one of these criteria may receive a trauma informed assessment:

  • Is in—or at risk of—an out of home placement due to their behavior
  • Is receiving or has received services from multiple systems or agencies
  • Is receiving services but behavior continues to escalate or child is not benefiting from those services

Following a consultation, the team may recommend a full or partial assessment.







LACASA Staff Insight

Why Victims Don’t Tell: Sandusky case sheds light on complexities of sexual abuse

EDITOR’S NOTE: This article originally was written and published by LACASA in September, 2012. It is updated regularly with links to relevant articles as they appear in the press. You will find the links at the bottom of this post. By Robin L. O’Grady with Nicole Matthews-Creech The conviction of former Penn State assistant football […]