Main Menu

Livingston County Trauma Informed Assessment: Eligibility Requirements

The Child IS:

• A resident of Livingston County (Livingston County jurisdiction)

• SED (Serious Emotional Disturbance): A diagnosable mental, behavioral or emotional disorder affecting a child within the past year or for a sufficient time period to meet diagnostic criteria. (The criteria will be specified in the most recent Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders.)  The child’s trauma has resulted in functional impairment that interferes with—or limits—the child’s role in family, school or community activities. Typically a CAFAS score of 50 or higher is considered SED.

• Infant to 18 years old

• Has experienced trauma, abuse or neglect


Is in out-of-home placement or is at risk of such placement


Is or has received services from multiple systems or agencies


Is receiving community services but continues to escalate or is not benefiting from those services

LACASA Staff Insight

Why Children Don’t Tell: Sandusky case sheds light on complexities of child sexual abuse

EDITOR’S NOTE: This article is updated regularly in the footnote section, which provides links to ongoing news about the Penn State Scandal and its aftermath. By Robin L. O’Grady with Nicole Matthews-Creech The conviction of former Penn State assistant football coach Jerry Sandusky captured the nation’s attention and cast a spotlight on an endless question: […]